Kentucky Y’all…The Final Edition.

19 Apr

Wow-it’s been almost a month since we returned from Kentucky, and I’m just now getting around to blogging about the last leg of our trip.

Bottom line-life with a toddler and a baby is hectic.  If I’m not breastfeeding, I’m probably returning books to shelves, or rewashing a load of laundry, or deflecting balls (thrown by Henry) from hitting Marshall’s head, or changing diapers, or pouring milk into sippy cups, or plotting my efforts to get skinny for swimsuit and wedding season…you get the idea.

Anyways-after we left Bardstown we started to make our trek back to Columbus-but made a stop just south of the Kentucky/Ohio border to meet and hang out with one of my very favorite bloggers.

I remember the first time I read Abby’s blog.  I was sitting in my girlfriend Rachel’s mom’s house.  Rachel and her mom were upstairs, and she said, “Here-read my girlfriend Abby’s blog-you’ll love it.”

And that my friends, was the beginning of a beautiful blogging friendship.  Just like Rachel’s blog, I would check Abby’s blog daily.  Only difference was-I didn’t.know.her.in.real.life.  We had gone to college together at the University of Kentucky, but we’d never actually been introduced.  Once I started reading her blog-I did recall a memory I had of Abby and a group of her sorority sisters out at Two Keys-it involved a table, dancing, and jammin’ out to Gwen Stefani. 🙂

And after a few weeks of reading, my knowledge of Babbling Abby far surpassed a random college memory.

I learned about her obsession with diet coke.  And her mad couponing skills. And her fabulous ability to accessorize an outfit. The more I read-the more I realized-this chick and I were SO friends in another lifetime.

SO when I knew I’d be passing through her neck of the woods-I decided to email her and see if she wanted to meet up for lunch.  She emailed me back saying yes, and that was the beginning of a beautiful IRL {in real life} friendship.

When I told my sister I was going to meet Babbling Abby, her response was-“So is this kind of like meeting a penpal?” Ha! I guess you could call it that. My friends and family kept asking-aren’t you nervous to go out to lunch with someone you’ve never met? And I would just giggle.  See-that’s the thing about blogging.  If you read about someone’s life for years-you get to know them pretty darn well-even IF you haven’t known them in person.

SO anyways-as the boys and I pulled up to the Babbling Household, Abby and her A-Dorable little man Becks were there to greet us with smiles and hugs. No strange awkward silences of two strangers meeting for the first time.  Just two girlfriends getting together to chat about life and gush about how cute their boys are.

Since UK was playing in the NCAA tournament at that very moment, we decided to nix our plans to go out to lunch, and order in instead. I considered it to be an honor that Abby let the boys and I crash her place, since she and her hubby were knee deep in their kitchen remodel. When we walked in, we were surrounded by piles of wood flooring and kitchen cabinets still in their boxes.  The good news-four weeks later-their kitchen is FINISHED.and.GORGEOUS.

So while Beckham and Henry dined over chicken fingers and french fries, Abby and I caught up like girlfriends do.  We talked about teaching and babies, and college and decorating houses-you know, the normal stuff.  Here are a few shots from our visit…

Two little boys, rockin’ their blue to cheer on the CATS!

Henry+Beckham+Chicken Fingers & French Fries=Bliss.

Just a couple of blogging blondes and their boys 🙂

And believe me-when Henry found out that Becks had a Buzz Lightyear doll-they went from good friends, to great friends

They were SO cute together.

Just a couple of old pals chillin’ on the couch…

And speaking of old pals…

Marshall was in LOVE with Abby.

He smiled, and cooed, and successfully heightened Abby’s baby fever.  Come on Abs-Marshall needs a friend 🙂

The other thing I insisted Abby do while we were visiting, was accompany me to the Gap Outlet.  Did I mention this chick has a knack for finding good deals? I figured I’d better channel her good-deal-vibes while we were together, and boy did she deliver.  When we stepped foot into the store-like a seasoned pro, Abby directed me with tricks of the trade on how to search for the right deals.

We were armed and ready to snag some clothes for the boys…

Abby pushed Henry in the shopping cart…

And I wore Marshall in the Bjorn.

We scored some awesome deals. And boy did we have fun.

Apparently Henry was worn out from all the shopping 🙂

But he scored some serious loot in the process…

1 pair of Jeans…2 Bathing Suits..2 Pairs of Shorts…3 pairs of Pajamas…8 Shirts…

All for $47.

Like I said, girl’s got a knack for finding good deals.

Thank you Abby for hosting Henry, Marshall and I!  We had the best time getting to hang out with you, B, and Becks! We can’t wait for you to come to Columbus to visit so we can go to the Zoo and COSI!

And that my friends, is how blog friends, become real(ly) good friends.

And just in case it’s raniny and gloomy where you are today…please check out the background of this photo for a little pick-me-up…

Consider this picture your reward for reading this entire post.

Look on the bright side-at least your gut isn’t hanging out of a horrendously large mustard yellow shirt.

Happy Tuesday PERKS followers.

6 Responses to “Kentucky Y’all…The Final Edition.”

  1. Dave April 19, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Oh-em-gee!! That is one hilarious sight!

    • lifeisfullofperks April 19, 2011 at 10:44 am #

      You’re not kidding Dave! Imagine what it was like in real life. Wow.

  2. jill April 19, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    I’m of course super jealous!!!

  3. Kristin Brown April 19, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    haha I love you, and your boys..thats all!

  4. Sherri April 19, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    you make me smile! That is one funny pic at the end. I too love reading Abby’s blog and would love to meet her one day. Hoep you guys are doing well. Mommy of 2 – you can do this! I promise!!!!

  5. Abby April 19, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Omiword, I AM SOOOOO LOLing AT THAT PIC!!!! I can’t even stand it. If Becks wasn’t due home from his Nana’s at this very moment I’d call you and laugh in person abou it. Except I can’t talk because I’m laughing so hard!!!!

    Love you, Perks fam!!!

Leave a Reply

