Kentucky Y’all…Part 2!

4 Apr

If you haven’t checked in with LIFOP lately, read about part 1 of our Kentucky road trip here.

After our sweet visit in Shelbyville with the Webbies, we headed over to Bardstown to visit one of my dearest friends in the world, Caitlin-or as Henry has come to know her…”Auntie Cait!”

I can’t say enough good things about Caitlin.  She’s the type of friend who I can and DO call about anything. When I first met her our freshman year of college, I just knew I wanted to be friends with her.  She was the gorgeous girl that had all the confidence in the world.  Not to mention-she managed to somehow take our sorry excuse for a dorm room closet, and still make it extremely well organized and color coordinated.

She’s feisty, fun, and my go-to fashion guru.  So seriously y’all-when I have a fashion quandary-I call Cait.  On many occasions, I’ve been heading to the mall, and I call Cait to channel her fashion sense.  I’ve also been half naked in a dressing room with her on speed dial to remind me whether or not the latest fashion trends are saying it’s ok to wear white after labor day.  In fact, shortly after I gave birth to Henry-I distinctly remember being in a Target dressing room-and texting Cait a picture of an outfit I was thinking about wearing to Keenland to ask for her opinion.  She’s the friend I can actually trust to be honest and say, “Yes Lindsey, that dress does make your boobs look too big.”

And when we aren’t talking fashion-you can probably find us laughing about our big crazy families.  We are both one of five children, and our youngest baby brothers share the same name.  So when I called her a few months ago to ask her if I could bring my toddler and six week-old for an overnight visit, strangely-she didn’t go running for the hills.  I knew the boys and I could comfortably take over the house and when we got there we were greeted with chips and salsa.  Like I said-the girl knows the way to my heart 🙂

We both share an appreciation for a loud, bustling household, and I can’t wait for Cait to have babies so we can start swapping stories in our journeys of motherhood.  I know she will be an incredible mother someday.  She’s already got one fan.  Henry was hilarious acting all coy with Cait-she was chasing him around and he loved.every.minute.

Henry definitely had a crush.

Another perk about our visit to see Auntie Cait in Bardstown…I also got to visit with another one of my bridesmaids and roommates from college, Erica.  Erica lives in Lexington and was sweet enough to make the hop over to Cait’s on Friday night so she could meet Mr. Marshall and we could all catch up.  Y’all might remember Erica…she was the beautiful bride who graciously allowed me to stand in her wedding when I was NINE months pregnant with Henry.  Luckily Erica was pretty enough for the both of us on that steamy July day back in 2009!  I’m so lucky to have Erica and Cait in my life.  And I simply can’t talk about these girls without thinking about our other roommate from our senior year-Erin-my sweet friend who’s currently living the rockstar life in New York City.  Erin was ALSO in my wedding and is also one of my absolute favorite people in the world.  THESE are the girls I want my boys to remember years from now when they are older.  I would not be the friend and mother I am today without each of these ladies’ love and support.

Since New York to Kentucky isn’t exactly a quick trip we settled for skyping with Erin from Cait’s house.  It was pretty entertaining watching Henry try to figure out why we were all talking to Erin through the computer.  He kept staring at the screen, and then staring at us trying to make sense of it all.  Don’t worry sweet boy-we are living in the digital age-I’m sure you’ll learn how to download music and skype by the time your four years-old, so it’ll make more sense soon enough.

 

Marsh, Aunt Erica, Aunt Cait & Henry!

And even though Marsh clearly wasn’t thrilled to be having his picture taken at that moment-I know he loved cashing in on some snuggles with the girls!

Thank you ladies for a wonderful visit!  Can’t wait for the next one!

Stay tuned…the final edition of the Kentucky road trip is coming.

And here’s a sneak preview of who we met on the last leg of our trip-a blogging rockstar who’s a mama to an adorable little guy who shares a name with a pretty hot soccer player.  Hehe 🙂

5 Responses to “Kentucky Y’all…Part 2!”

  1. Catav April 4, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    that was the sweestest post ever about ya’lls friendship and it seriously made me teary eyed…love it.

  2. Abby April 4, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Can’t wait to visit with you all up north!!!!

  3. Cait April 4, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    It was so great to see you guys and meet Mr. Marshall!! Bring my boyfriend back soon!!

    • lifeisfullofperks April 4, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      oh we’ll definitely be back once the pool is open 🙂

  4. Erin April 5, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Sad I missed all the Kentucky fun, but glad that skype is always there! Miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

