Kentucky Y’all…Part 1.

28 Mar

Let me tell you y’all a little something about southern hospitality.  It’s real.  And it’s spectacular.

I’m breaking down our road trip into three parts-mostly because there are so. many. pictures.  Hope y’all enjoy…

Last weekend I had the privilege to take both of my boys down south to hang with some of my favorite people in the whole wide world.  I visited with some old friends, made some new friends, and even turned one bloggy friend into an IRL {in real life} friend.

Most people’s first impression of our trip is that I must be crazy.  What mom in their right mind would take a 19 month-old and a 6 week-old on a road trip, by herself, out of state, etc.  To which I would say-well-you must not know how  much I love Kentucky-and all the wonderful friends I have there!

Our first stop on our road trip was the sweet little southern town of Shelbyville, Kentucky where we visited with my dear friend Rachel, her husband Lee(dle), and their too-cute-for-words son, Walker.  The readers digest version on Rach and I is that we met in college at the University of Kentucky while working for our Student Government.  Rach was SG’s president and I was the Secretary of the Cabinet.  While knee-deep in dirty politics we instantly hit it off and have been dear friends ever since.  We were born four days apart from each other, were among the firsts of all of our friends to get married, and she was my very first good friend to become a mom.  When I got pregnant, I called Rach for E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G.  I asked her about a billion questions on everything from breastfeeding and bottles, to swaddling and sleeping.  I can remember my countless trips into Babies ‘R Us where I’d have Rach on speed dial as I walked in-needing her to remind me which brand of pacifiers worked best, and why nipple cream would save my life 🙂  She’s JUST that kind of friend-and I’m damn lucky to know her.  I can also probably thank Rach for encouraging me to start my blog-so in turn-anyone reading this should also thank her 🙂 Here are a few shots from our time with the Webbs…

Rach’s hubby, Lee…getting a little practice holding Marshall before baby Warren arrives!  Also decked out in their KY blue!

Seriously y’all-Walker is really that cute in person too!

Henry and Walker hit it off instantly.  They’d met once before, but it was when Henry was only three months old.  These two picked up like old pals and never looked back.  It was so sweet to see them together.  The morning after we arrived these two jammie-clad cutie pies snuggled up in bed to watch cartoons, and Rach and I swooned at our boys getting a chance to spend some quality time together…

Is there anything cuter than little boys in PJ’s?

Henry kept watching Walker-and wanted to do everything he did.  Walker is exactly a year older than Henry-and it gave me so much to look forward to with Henry-as Walker is talking up a storm (with his sweet southern twang of course!)

Two peas in a pod…just like their mamas 🙂

Later that morning Rach invited over some of her good friends who all have little boys around Henry and Walker’s ages.  Henry was IN HEAVEN being surrounded by all the boys-and I was in heaven as I got to spend some quality time with a few other moms who know exactly what life is like raising little boys 🙂

From left to right…Caden, Walker, Henry & Tucker.

Ha-I laugh every time I see Tucker’s expression in that picture.  He apparently was NOT excited to cruise around with the boys in Walker’s kentucky blue corvette toddler bed-or maybe he’s just realized that all those boys are crazy.

Like I said…Henry was in heaven being surrounded by all these ornery boys 🙂

Rachel is expecting her second child-and FIRST daughter, Warren in late May.  She kindly obliged to lots of cuddles with Mr. Marshall so she could get plenty of practice in before her sweet little miss arrives…

No-this is not an optical illusion.  There IS a 30-week pregnant belly in this picture.

Isn’t Rach gorgeous?  She really is rockin’ the pregnancy glow these days…

My visit with Rach was also super exciting because I finally got to meet my friend Tiff!  I say she was already my friend because although we’d never met in person before this trip-through our blogs, we’d gotten to know each other quite well-and I knew we’d hit it off once we met in real life.  She’s adorable-just as I suspected-and her little guy Tuckerbug (pictured above and below) is so. darn. precious.  I mean seriously-he looks like he was scooped right out of a GAP commercial.  Tiff is expecting her 2nd child-due to be here in October and I can’t wait to find out what she’s having!  I also got to meet Katie and Sherri– two more amazing mamas. They each have two little boys as well.  Are you starting to see a pattern here?  Lots of awesome moms…lots of awesome little boys.  Of course we were so busy taking pictures of the kids-I didn’t get any shots of us moms-but don’t worry ladies-I’ll be back to KY after Warren is born and  we’ll make sure to get some then!

Then we attempted to get some more pictures of the boys…and trying to get toddler boys to sit still for a picture-well it’s darn near impossible…

Tucker, Marsh, Walker & Henry.

Rach and I couldn’t get over how much Henry & Walker looked alike.

They’ve got similar color hair, eyes and skin tone.

And they are both 100 % mama’s boys 🙂

We then attempted the infamous couch picture.  I’ll let the outtakes speak for themselves…

Ha! This one deserves its own caption:

Tucker and Henry were imitating Tiffany (Tucker’s Mama-who was furiously trying to get all the boys attention,) meanwhile Walker yelled to Rach-“Mom! I have a booger!” All the while, Rach was trying to keep Marshall happy while I snapped away on the camera 🙂

We then thought perhaps removing Marshall from the pictures would help…

But then things just got downright goofy…

And we went for one last pose…

Sigh. Do boys ever sit still for pictures?

Rach-thanks SO much for such a wonderful visit.  Although I am uber-sad we don’t live next door to one another-I guess one state away is better than across the country!  I’m counting down the days until little miss Warren arrives and can’t wait to see her sporting all her new bows from her Aunt Shubie 🙂 Tiff, Katie & Sherri-it was so great to finally meet y’all.  Can’t wait for the next visit!

Ok Loyal PERKS followers-are you still with me?  I know this post was a doozy-but I just really want to remember my first road trip with both my boys.  Stay tuned for parts 2 and 3 coming this week!

Meanwhile-happy Monday Y’all 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Kentucky Y’all…Part 1.”

  1. Sherri March 28, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    IT was GREAT to meet you too! I wish you lived here!!!! We all had fun. Kind of glad we skipped out before the infamous couch picture. My boys would have been perfect picture posers, of course. Oh I dream! 🙂

  2. Jillian March 28, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Okay I never realized how much Henry looks like you:) And you are crazy doing that road trip!! I’m nervous to go anywhere longer than an hour away!

  3. Lauren March 28, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    I visited your blog through Jillian and the first post just happened to be your trip to Kentucky! I live about 45 minutes away from where you visited! Such a small world! Cute kiddos, too!

  4. Jenny Campbell April 1, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    I must say that is one crew of ADORABLE BOYS!!! LOVE THE PICS – and the ‘outtakes’ are PRICELESS. Can’t wait to see you…. in 2 DAYS!!!!

  5. Tucker's Mama April 17, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    I love the pics. And especially loved y’all’s visit!!!
    I’m already looking forward to the next one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kentucky Y’all…Part 2! « - April 4, 2011

    […] If you haven’t checked in with LIFOP lately, read about part 1 of our Kentucky road trip here. […]

Leave a Reply

