Eighteen Months.

8 Mar

Stop the world.

**Well-before we stop the world-make sure you scroll down and leave a comment/read the comments from my last post.  It turns out my Loyal PERKS followers are just as wacky as I suspected!  Keep the random perky facts coming!

So far y’all have confessed to loving cheesy icebreakers, having an incessant desire to keep the silverware perfectly aligned, being unfairly shoved into a lockers, and we’ve even got a child runaway.  To the backyard of course 🙂

AND! Apparently I’m not the only one who’s argued with my spouse over the correct way to load the dishwasher…perhaps I should dedicate a tutorial post to this cause? To help us all become better dishwasher-loading spouses?

**OK…back to regularly scheduled programming…

Guess who had their 18 month well check-up last week?!?

My baby.

Who is anything BUT a baby these days.

He’s so stinkin’ grown up I can barely handle it.

 

He’s still a total goofball.

I get these weekly emails about Henry’s development and the latest email’s subject line said…

“Your baby is 79 weeks old this week.”

79 weeks.

I might as well start filling out his Kindergarten registration forms.

I kid.

But I’m certainly NOT kidding when I say every day with my little Henry is an adventure.

He still loves looking at himself in the mirror.

And he passed his tests at the doctor’s office with flying colors.  As usual.

He’s made it eighteen WHOLE months without a single sick visit to the doctor.

Never one ear infection. No prescriptions. Nothing.

Dr. Matt said you must have “drinking straws” for ear tubes.

KNOCK. ON. WOOD.

You’re still tall for your age…90th percentile…and you’ve moved up in the weight bracket…75th percentile-weighing in at a whopping 27.5 lbs.

You  double-checked your own ears after Dr. Matt left the room.

Better safe than sorry I guess.

 

Sweet Baby Boogie Boy…here are 18 perks about you to honor you hitting this age milestone…

  1. Your hair is kind of a hot mess.  It’s so thin and fine.  And as a result it looks like it needs to be cut every 3 days.  We’ve only had it cut twice.  Daddy Perks and I are riding this wave out, crossing our fingers that soon enough you’ll start to inherit our thick, wavy mops.
  2. Your favorite expression currently is “Oh, WOW!” You say it any time your impressed with something. And a lot of things impress you.
  3. When we ask you to say the words of any animals-you don’t say the word, but instead make the sounds.  Except for cat.  When we ask you to say cat-you say “Cat” because you can’t saw “Meow.”
  4. Your other favorite words right now are buh-bye, bubbles, balls, and balloon-or as you say: “boon!”
  5. Up until last month you had little to NO interest in TV. I thought maybe it was because up until last month we didn’t have cable.  And go figure-the one show you’ve started to show interest in: Sesame Street. Forget the fact that we’ve now got cable access to the entertaining programming likes of Yo Gabba Gabba and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.  Oh no-you’d prefer to watch the big yellow bird on basic cable.
  6. You still eat everything we put in front of you.  You don’t even really put up a fight about veggies.  Although-given the choice, you prefer fruit and carbs over veggies and protein any day of the week.  That’s why you always get your veggies first.
  7. You still only drink milk and water.  You LOVE milk.  You chug your entire cup as soon as we put it in front of you and don’t breathe until it’s all gone.
  8. You are still obsessed with cell phones.  I have to laugh when I see you walking around the house holding a phone between your ear and shoulder-you’ve always got a look on your face like you own the place.  And really, you do.
  9. You are a very proud big brother.  You always want to know where Marshall is.  And you walk up to him and say “Awww” and “Hiiii” in a high voice.  Apparently you’ve caught on to the fact that adults talk to babies in a higher voice.  And as a result-so do you 🙂
  10. Whenever sports or ESPN are on TV-you immediately start yelling and clapping.  Hmmmm-wonder where you got that from?
  11. You still don’t know a stranger.  You’ll cozy up to anyone who will pay attention to you. All you do to win them over is hand them a book and nudge your little heiny into their lap waiting for them to start reading.
  12. Speaking of books-you choose reading books over playing with toys every.single.time.
  13. When I’m blow drying my hair, you like to “help” by running a brush through my hair as it’s flipped upside down.  It’s generally an extremely painful process for me because you get the brush stuck in my hair-but I still let you do it every single time.
  14. When we are going somewhere you always bring my shoes to me.  I promise I never trained you to do that.  However, it was really helpful when I was pregnant with your baby brother. You’re such a big helper.
  15. You are so generous and loving.  You always offer to share your food with Daddy and I.  You obviously know the way to our hearts 🙂
  16. You love going on walks.  You quite literally have an extra spring in your step when we walk outside on sunny days.  And you love to walk just a little bit ahead, and then you look back and smile at me.  I melt every time.
  17. You’ve taken to throwing all your blankets and woobies out of your crib in the morning.  And when Daddy and I come into your room in the morning you always giggle and have a sheepish grin on your face.
  18. You’ve officially entered the stage of toddler destruction: you pull books off shelves, tear blinds down off windows, root through the pantry, and say the word “No” all.the.time.

Daddy and I couldn’t be more proud of the little man you are turning into.  Everyday you do or say something new and it’s making this stage in your life both exciting and scary at the same time.  Exciting in the sense that you’re saying new words, and trying new things all the time, and scary in the sense that you’re finding new and innovative ways to make our leather couch your personal jungle gym.

Thanks for keeping us on toes.

Love,

Mama

3 Responses to “Eighteen Months.”

  1. Rach March 8, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    How fun that he is so smitten with Marshall? And I don’t get how he has fine hair b/c you have such a full head yourself. He is a big, handsome boy. I’ll tell ya that much. Can’t wait to see you!

  2. Abby March 9, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    Can’t wait to meet this precious Mister! And the Little Mister too! Oh, and you of course 😉 Yay!!!

  3. Tucker's Mama March 9, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    OMG! Could he be any more scruptious!!!! I can’t wait to get my hands on that boy! Counting down the days!!!

    I loved reading his update! Him and Tucker are gonna be like 2 peas in a pod! 😉

Leave a Reply

