27 Perky Facts about Mama Perks!

7 Mar

**Warning! If you need a reason to put off any of your typical monday duties at work, home or wherever you may be reading from…you’re welcome.**

My southern-sweet-as-derby-pie friend Rach inspired me to write this post…

Here are 27 of the most random facts about Mama Perks that you loyal followers may or may not already know about me…

1. I broke things off with my maternity jeans today.  Like-officially.  They are in the wash.  And when they come out of the dryer, I’m folding them up-and storing them away for a long LONG (did you hear that, God?) LONG time.  Bye bye stretchy. Hello buttons and zippers.  Actually-it felt good to put my skinny jeans on today.  And since it’s only been 4 1/2 weeks since I gave birth-so I’m giving myself a pat-on-the-back for being able to zip AND button them.

2. I attribute my ability to zip the aforementioned skinny jeans due to breastfeeding.  Welcome back best-diet-of-all-time.  I’ve missed you-and I’m glad you’re back.  I have officially resumed eating like a middle school boy, and I’m still losing weight.  And I’m loving every.minute.of.it.

3. Last week I had a moment in my bedroom where I thought-“if they’re were cameras on me right now-somebody might be showing up on my doorstep to cordially invite me to the crazy house.”  This was due to the fact that my toddler pulled the mini-blinds down off our bedroom window THREE DAYS IN A ROW.  On the third day it happened I almost went postal. Not on my toddler of course. But on the blinds. How dare they not be able to withstand the weight of my 27.5 lb firstborn son when he pulls on them?

4.  When I was 12 years old, my friend and I rode our bikes to the nearest drug store by my parents house to buy tampons.  Neither of us had gotten our first periods yet.  We bought them out of sheer exhilaration at the thought that when we purchased them the store clerk would assume we did have our periods.  Looking back-I’d venture to say, that not only did we waste our money, but I bet that the store clerk was less-than-impressed with our purchase.

5. When I eat a slice of cheese, I never eat it whole.  I usually fold it four times so that I enjoy eight tiny pieces of cheese.  Am I the only person who does this?

6. While I’m on the topic of eating…I like onions. A. LOT. Like-so much so, that I almost always ask for extra onions on my salad when we’re out to eat. And Daddy Perks despises my love for onions. Mostly because he claims he can smell the onions for days after I eat the salad.

7. I’ve been blogging for just over 2 years and I can literally say it has changed my life.  Not just because I’ve been able to maintain a virtual scrapbook of my life.  But also because I’ve met so many amazing friends through blogging. Friends that I now talk on the phone with. Friends-some of which I’m very excited to meet in a couple weeks.  Friends who I plan to vacation with.  Friends that I will have for a long time-ALL BECAUSE I started this silly little blog.  In fact-I’m working on a post dedicated to my blog friends.  It’ll be posted later this week.

8. In sixth grade I did my science fair project on experimenting to see if more expensive detergent really does clean clothes better.  My results? It doesn’t.  In fact, the cheapest detergent I experimented with did the best job of removing stains.  So I’m proud to say that because of that science experiment I conducted fifteen years ago, I’ve saved myself lots of money over the years by buying generic detergent.  And I think my clothes are pretty clean.

9. I went to college at The University of Kentucky. I became a die-hard basketball fan while I was there.  So much so-that when I was studying abroad in London, England-I almost booked a ticket home just so I could see the CATS play in the elite 8 during March Madness.  They ended up losing.  And I’m really glad I didn’t spend $800 to fly home last minute.

10. I’ve never had strep throat. Or eaten a rice krispy treat. (No seriously-I’ve never eaten a rice krispy treat. It’s what I like to call my “lame claim to fame.” And it annoys Daddy Perks to no end that I won’t just eat a rice krispy treat.  This year, he put one in my stocking assuming that since it was a gift-I’d have to at least try it to be polite.  It’s still sitting in our pantry.)

11.The biggest fight Daddy Perks and I have had lately is over how I load the dishwasher.  He thinks I load it “wrong.” I maintain that as long as the dishes come out clean-that the way I load it is “right enough.”

12. I’m really thankful that the biggest fight I’ve had with my husband in recent memory is over the dishwasher.

13. My first kiss was in the front row of a movie theater. With a boy.  It was really slobbery.  And not at all romantic.  But I still made an excuse to go to the bathroom right after it happened so I could tell my friends about it.

14. I haven’t had McDonald’s since I gave birth to Marshall. I guess I can officially say that quarter pounders were my pregnancy craving of choice.  I really don’t miss them all that much.  But I do love their french fries.  I confess that on occasion while going through the Mickey D’s drive through I have been known to complain that my fries weren’t hot enough-and will wait for them to cook a fresh batch.  How many times do you think I’ve eaten saliva drenched fries?

15. I’m currently reading Friday Night Knitting Club.  It’s really good.  It’s taking me a long time to finish it.  I blame that on motherhood.

16. Skating parties were a highlight on my middle school social calendar.  The best skating parties were the ones that ended with me skating with a cute boy to the song “End of the Road” by Boyz II Men.  I don’t think that actually ever happened-except maybe in my dreams.  Do you think if I took Daddy Perks to a local skating rink and asked the DJ to play that song, that he would even be old enough to know who Boyz II Men are?

17. I need to make an adjustment to # 11.  Daddy Perks and I just argued over if it’s necessary or not to have a mattress pad on our bed.  You can make your own assumptions on which stance we each had on this topic.

18. I have different classes of sweatpants.  The other day when my girlfriend came over to visit, I put on my “nice” sweatpants.

19.  I have just decided that if Daddy Perks and I were a TV couple-we’d be Phil and Clair Dunphy from Modern Family.  I would kill to have Claire Dunphy’s body after having three kids.  Yes-I’m aware that she did not actually birth those three children.  But I just looked it up, and she has actually has three children in real life.  So seriously-how does she look that good?

20. Two of my dearest friends in the world are getting married on the same weekend this summer.  I’m in both weddings.  I have started referring to them as “Saturday Bride” and “Sunday Bride” respectively.  You will be hearing a lot more about their wedding festivities in the coming months.

21. I have a sister named Megan.  Daddy Perks also has a sister named Megan.  They are both the middle children in our families.  They were both born on June 28th exactly 10 years apart.

22. I am members of the following teams.  Team Pacey. Team Edward. Team Zack & Kelly. Team Oprah. Team TODAY show.

23. When I talk to my southern friends, my southern twang comes out.

24. I’m a sucker for all things spa related…pedicures, massages, facials…oh my!

25. I hate listening to voicemails. I sometimes put if off for days and let them accumulate until I start to have anxiety.  If you’re reading this-and you’re someone who calls me-don’t ever leave any pressing information on a voicemail you leave for me.  But if your name is Rachel-you should continue leaving me singing voicemails because they are my favorite.

26. I drive a 1997 Red Ford Explorer.  It has 211,000 miles on it. It runs like a dream.  I rarely have to fill up my gas tank because we drive Daddy Perks’ car most of the time.  In fact-I just thought about it, and I haven’t put gas in my car in over SEVEN weeks.  Guess my SUV hasn’t enjoyed guzzling much gas lately.  I’ll chalk that up to having a newborn 🙂

27. Ok-now it’s your turn.  If you are someone who gets ANY pleasure or enjoyment out of reading Life Is Full of Perks-you MUST leave a random factoid about yourself in the comments section.  I know who you are people.  This site gets hundreds of hits a day…which means I should have LOTS of perky comments to look forward to reading in the coming days.

Happy Monday Loyal PERKS followers.

19 Responses to “27 Perky Facts about Mama Perks!”

  1. Shannon March 7, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Oh this feels just like a cheesy ice breaker! My random fact is that I secretly love those cheesy ice breakers. You know, think of an adjective to describe yourself that starts with the first letter of your first name kinda thing! Mine would be sarcastic Shannon by the way 🙂

    • lifeisfullofperks March 7, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      Thanks for posting Shannon! I visited your blog-looks like we need to see some wedding pictures!!!

      • lifeisfullofperks March 7, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

        And for the record Shannon…I love those wacky icebreakers too 🙂 Just call me Laughing Lindsey 😉

  2. Jessica March 7, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    If the flatware in my drawer is not lined up perfectly (spoons spooning each other, forks spooning each other, etc) I FREAK OUT and WILL take the time to fix them all before I can close the drawer. Even though I realize my 5-yr old and 2-yr old don’t care about this and therefore there is NO HOPE of the drawer staying perfect past the next meal. It’s strange, really, bcs the rest of my life isn’t nearly as organized (nor do I care for it to be!).

    • lifeisfullofperks March 7, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

      I LOVE it! Sometimes I can be a freak about the silverware lining up too…hmmm wonder what causes that 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Jessica!

  3. Sherri March 7, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    hmmm. Wacky fact about me… Once when I as in seventh grade I got pushed into a locker by this mean girl named Malisha Bradley. And I don’t remember what I DIDN’T do to deserve that. Sadly, that’s one of my most vivid memories about middle school.

  4. Abby March 7, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Love this post and can relate to almost all of it!! We’re on all the same “Teams” and B and I {used} to argue over the way I loaded the dishwasher “wrong.” We haven’t argued about that in over 2 months. I guess that’s a plus of a kitchen remodel. Minor plus 😉

  5. abs March 7, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    this post is why i love you… this just brought me back to freshman year in the dorms of k-tower with all of your funny quirks. i love the “discussions” that you and colin have and i have a feeling i would side with colin on some of them (such as the mattress pad which you must have linz!) which is another reason why i love you.

    my bit of randomness is that i hate darkness. i can’t turn all of the lights off in a room without having the hall light turned on and when i fall asleep i have to have the tv on. i just really don’t like the dark!

  6. Rach March 8, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    I am going to force feed you a rice krispy treat when you come in town. I am not joking. Tiff & I are going to hold you down and make you eat one. Ha! And like I said in my text, Champs was the highlight of my middle school years as well. Although I never could quite master the backwards skate. Great list. Love you.

  7. Ashley March 8, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    When I was little my friend and I would “run away” from home! We would legit pack our bags with clothes, toothbrush, snacks, etc. She had the biggest backyard, so we would just go to the way back and stay for hours (at least it seemed like forever)! One time our parents couldn’t find us….hahaha 🙂 O the joy of childhood memories!

  8. Catav March 8, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    hi love! this post made me laugh and miss you terribly! I am shocked you have never had a rice krispie treat…seriously? I am with Rachel and Colin that you need to be forced to taste this delicious treat 🙂

    as for my random fact there are too many to name, but I will go with that I can not eat one of anything, it always has to be in even numbers so 4 crackers, never 3. weird I know, but it works 🙂

  9. Sherri March 8, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    oh and I forgot to tell you that I have also never ever eaten a rice krispie treat. Not one. And I probably never will. LOL! I love your posts – they always make me happy!

  10. DrM March 8, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    Only because you crack me up:

    The two things I hate most in this world are #1 people who back into parking spaces and #2 cucumbers.

    I have never eaten meatloaf and never will…why: because if you are going to form ground beef into shapes, ball it up and throw it into some sauce and let’s eat spaghetti.

    🙂

  11. Tucker's Mama March 9, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    27 more things I love about you!!! Dang, with everyone doing these lists, I’m gonna have to jump on board too! So, I’ll leave you with one that I won’t put on my list b/c my mom reads my blog and as far as I know (I could be wrong…) she doesn’t read yours. I used to sneak outta the house way after curfew and Wes would pick me up down the street from my house. We would drive around for hours talking! My mom would die lol! (Yet another reason that I’m gonna die if Baby #2 is a girl!)

  12. Tucker's Mama March 9, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    And I’m with Rach, we are totally force feeding you rice krispie treats! What if they’re smothered in chocolate??

  13. meridith March 10, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    glad to see i’m not alone in the quirkiness department and i agree with anyone who doesn’t like the dark and thinks there is a proper way to load a dishwasher. my random fact is that i hated, hated, hated chinese food during pregnancy and now i crave it. as in i would even eat the chinese mall food court kind to have some kind of craving which is sad.

  14. gina March 11, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    I love you even more after reading your facts. Your tampon story, which was HILARIOUS, btw, made me remember a funny story. I used to wear one of those jelly bracelets in my mouth and tell people it was a retainer. Once, my mom came outside and told me to take it out of my mouth. My friends looked at me like they had busted my story, and I responded, “Oh, I’m not supposed to wear it on the weekends.” If I ever do a random things post, I’m including that one. 🙂

  15. All-American Jess March 12, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Sooooo funny!!

    Eat the Rice Krispy Treat. It will change your life. But, eat a homemade one with more marshmellows than the recipe calls for. YUM!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mama Perks…A to Z. « - March 22, 2011

    […] Mar This post was SO much fun that I decided it was time for another round of getting-to-know-Mama-Perks […]

Leave a Reply

