Steelers to play in Super Bowl XLV…ON my DUE DATE.

24 Jan

It’s official.

Daddy Perks’ beloved Pittsburgh Steelers WILL be playing in the Super Bowl on Sunday, February 6th 2011…aka the due date our our second son.

Coincidence?

I think not.

Daddy Perks & Henry sporting their Roethlisberger jerseys earlier this season…

The backstory goes…When Colin and I first started dating-it was during the NFL playoffs and it just so happened that the Steelers ended up going to the Super Bowl that year.  I just KNEW that my hubby was head-over-heals in LOVE with me when I was allowed to watch the game with him at his house.  It was a true testament of his adoration for me because when the Steelers make it to the playoffs…he typically prefers to watch the games alone, in the comforts of his own home.

SO-I obviously coined myself his good luck charm when the Steelers won that season.  And then when they won AGAIN three years later.

Now here we are…Steelers are playing for another Super Bowl championship-only this time…the impending birth of our second son has been thrown into the mix.

Do we know when Baby Marshall plans to make his debut?

No.

Will the stars align, allowing Marshall to share his birthday on the same day with another Steelers Super Bowl victory?

A certain Daddy Perks can dream, right?

Meanwhile-Daddy Perks and I have made a few deals regarding his beloved team and our beloved baby boys…

First of all-a few of these have been purchased to add to the family collection:

 

 

And Henry’s 1st official terrible towel…

And also…just to spice things up…I’ve promised Daddy Perks (per his request) that IF Marshall’s birth actually happens during the Superbowl, and the Steelers win-then I’ll allow Daddy Perks to have Marshall’s middle name be in honor of whatever Steelers player wins the Superbowl MVP award…

Specific ground rules for this deal have yet to be determined (mostly because I think Daddy Perks thinks I’m totally bluffing on this promise)…but I’m thinking I better make sure that we promise that only first names can be used…otherwise Marshall could end up a real mouthful for a middle name…Roethlisberger…Polamalu…Mendenhall.

Yikes.

Anyways-that’s the latest excitement buzzing around the Perks’ Household…plenty of sportscenter, Super Bowl talk, and one crazy nesting mama just counting down the minutes until her sweet baby boy decides to make his arrival…

 

 

5 Responses to “Steelers to play in Super Bowl XLV…ON my DUE DATE.”

  1. abs January 24, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    So have you discussed any scenarios IF the steelers do not win the super bowl on the birth of your second child??

    I really wonder if Rob would miss the Redwings in the last game of the Stanley Cup for the birth of his own child…. I really am not sure!

  2. lifeisfullofperks January 25, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    Oh Abs…I’m trying not to let my mind go to ugly places…I’m wishing for a Steelers victory AS much as I’m hoping for a safe and speedy delivery for Marshy-Moo 🙂 And you tell that future hubby of yours…to plan the conception of your first child to coordinate around the date of Stanley Cup game & so he doesn’t have to choose!!!

  3. Tiff January 26, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    Girl you are brave, you know our boys have some pretty messed up names lol!!! I can see an ear to ear grin on Colin’s face! We were doing a lot of terrible flag waving around these parts too! Hmmm I guess Marshall Troy Perkins has a nice ring to it….let’s just hope it doesn’t set him up for wicked hair! 🙂

  4. Kristin Brown January 26, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    You are too cute! I am just waiting by phone to hear of Baby M’s arrival! I am so excited I cant stand it! I am so happy for you and your growing family! Oh and for colin for his team making it to the big game haha! And what an amazing wife you are..Colin you are a lucky man my friend! Oh and how much do I LOVE the new layout! So cute and what great pictures of you all..no surprise that Baby M will also be a little stud!

    Love you!!
    Mamma Brown

  5. Rach January 27, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    I’m pretty sure it’s meant to be:). And I’m also pretty sure that I love you new blog design too:). And I’m also pretty sure that I am waiting on pins and needles for the text that your second child is on his way:). Love you.

Leave a Reply

