And We Shall Call Him…

15 Dec

Marshall Oliver Perkins.

For those of you loyal PERKS followers who have been hounding me…there it is-the prized name of Baby Perks # 2!!!

It was no easy road-deciding on a name for our second son, that is.  With Henry, we had nailed down our favorite boy and girl name WELL in advance of the 20 week gender appointment, so that as soon as we found out what we were having, we could reveal our name choice.

For some reason…this time around proved to be much harder.  Any other parents out there experience this?  It was as if we’d spent our lives deliberating on the perfect name for our firstborn…and then when we found out we were pregnant with number 2, we were like…“Uh-you mean we have to name THIS BABY, TOO?”

So for months Daddy Perks and I were back and forth on about a zillion boy names that we each sorta liked.  It seemed the pressure was on to give our second son a name we loved just as much as Henry.  And then of course there was the added pressure of those two names needing to compliment each other.  There were thoughts of…

“Do we want to go the whole, Have-All-Our-Kids-Names-Begin-With-The-Same-Letter route?”

Should we consider the fact that IF we do pick another name that begins with “H”, and go with “Oliver” for the middle name, that our boys’ initials will be HIP and HOP?” And will that predetermine that they’re destined for some type of rapping musical career in the future? Perhaps we could call them: White Boy Perks. Too much pressure if you ask me.  After all, I’d be happy if they take a few piano lessons at some point in their lives.

“Should we try to pick a name that is less popular?” We actually thought we were going outside-the-box when we chose Henry.  Turns out if both Heidi Klum and Julia Roberts also name their sons Henry-so do a lot of other people.

So-you see?  Picking a name for your unborn child is tough.  And picking a name for your unborn second child?  Near impossible.

And the funny thing is…Marshall was a name we had brought up months and months ago-but then had both kind of forgotten about.  And when the idea resurfaced…we knew it was the winner.

So after a bit of official internet investigation…here’s the lowdown on Marshall’s name:

llmar-shall\ is pronounced MAR-shal. It is of Old French origin, and the meaning of Marshall is “caretaker of horses“. Occupational name. Also a law enforcement title and a military title ofgreat honor. Common in Scotland as a first name since the early 19th centuryDepartmentstore founder Marshall Field; media theorist Marshall McLuhan; actor David Marshall Grant;Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall; football player Marshall Faulk; pop singer Marshall Mathers.

So-there you have it.  I love that Marshall, like Henry, has a classic, regal sound to it.  I also love that in a way-naming the baby Marshall seems to be a way that I can honor my lovely collegiate alma mater, University of Kentucky.

Do I think that Marshall will go on to be a “caretaker of horses?” Not likely.  But if he does-let’s hope he’s the kind that puts his momma in the grandstand at the Kentucky Derby wearing an obnoxiously large hat and an outfit that costs way too much money.

You should also know, that 32 1/2 weeks in utero, Marshall already has several nicknames.  We’ve taken to referring to him as Marsh, Marshy-Moo, and Mack Daddy.

Ok-I lied.  We’ve never actually called him Mack Daddy.  But Daddy Perks did mention once that he liked the nickname Mack.  I agree.  And if we’re gonna socially torture the kid by occasionally calling him Marshy-Moo…it only seems fair that Mack Daddy also be on his list of nicknames.

After all, our sons’ initials may not be HIP HOP…but, Marshall does share his name with the greatest white boy rapper of all time.  Let’s just hope he doesn’t go all “8 Mile” on us.

So…loyal PERKS followers?  First impressions on the name???


8 Responses to “And We Shall Call Him…”

  1. Sallie December 15, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Totally love the name! I think its a great choice- and the most important part is that you LOVE it! Good job 🙂

  2. Tucker's Mama December 15, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Girl you CRACK ME UP! I am sitting in my kitchen (still in my PJ’s) blog surfing while Tucker naps and am literally laughing out loud! Not at the name, of course! I LOVE the name! Perfect! 🙂 I can totally relate to the difficulty in picking a 2nd boy name. We’re not even prego but I’m convinced when we are blessed with baby #2 it will be another boy. Like y’all, we have a girl name but no boy name seems to live up to “Tucker” 😉

    “Marshall” is perfect. “Henry and Marshall” – even better! Whether the ‘Perk Boys’ will be bustin’ out rhymes or not, they have some sweet swagger going on lol! 🙂

  3. kristin brown December 15, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Love his name and already love him so much! I just can’t wait to get my hands on him! What a beautiful family and names you all will have! And I LOVE the nick name Mack. We know a Mack and I wanted to use that as our babys real name…to cute!

  4. Abby December 16, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    I love it! So cute! A perfect fit with Henry too!

  5. Jaime December 16, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    Ummm the HIP HOP comment actually made me bust out laughing!

  6. Sherri December 20, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    Hey there – I know you don’t know me… but I’m a friend of Rachie’s and I love reading your bloggy. So fun! Glad pregnancy number 2 is going well. And I love the name… I have to admit, before I even read the end , a certain white rapper’s songs started goin’ through my head! I used to be (well, maybe I still am) a closet Emenim fan. Whoa nelly. And the HIP HOP comment… so funny! Love it!

  7. Rach December 23, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    Love, love, love it. And I have completely confidence that he will not ever go 8 mile on you. Not even once.

  8. Jennifer H. December 28, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    I just stumbled upon your blog from babywebbsite.com and wanted to say hi! I’ve got 2 boys as well, 18 months apart (now 2 and 8 months). I wanted to tell you that I think Marshall and Henry are two wonderful classic little boy names! We didn’t have a name for #2 until a few days before he was born, so I totally agree that it’s so much harder to find 2 great boy names!

Leave a Reply

