SO many PERKS to be THANKFUL for…

27 Nov

I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting over the past few days…here are the serious AND not-so-serious PERKS in my life that I’m most thankful for…

*The gift of writing.   The idea that I can put any of my thoughts and words down, and they are mine to keep forever.

*French fries.  (Look people…I said some of these weren’t SO serious.  I mean come on…who doesn’t love a good boiling hot, salty fry?)

*My ability to conceive children.  While this second pregnancy may have SHOCKED my socks off…when I think about the ease with which Daddy Perks and I have been blessed to bring two baby boys into this world, I will never, ever take for granted that God has blessed us with the most amazing gift life has to offer-parenting.  Seriously-I can now say with certainty-that I will never accomplish anything greater in my life than loving my children.  And that love for my boys, has made me fall even deeper in love with my husband. (Cha-ching.)

*Flip flops in the summer…and cozy boots in the winter.  BOTH of which have allowed me to maintain some sort of dignity as I’ve waddled through the third trimesters of my pregnancies.  I’m thankful that I have YET to ask someone to have to tie my shoes for me.  Who needs shoelaces, really?

*My home.  I have a warm, safe place that I love.  And as the days roll by, I continue to make beautiful memories with my boys in this place.  And while mortgages are overrated-I’m beyond blessed that we have the ability to pay that mortgage every month and keep this place-so we can keep making memories.

*Books.  And not just because books can allow you to escape reality for a while.  But also, because I love that a book is something to be shared with those you love.  I love the fact that I can receive a random, goofy text message on a Saturday night from my best friend about a book we’ve both read-and that text message makes me laugh.

*My siblings.  Being the oldest of five children is a gift-even if I didn’t realize it when my mom told me she was pregnant with # 5 back when I was nine years old.  I can’t imagine my life without any of my brothers and sisters-and I’m so glad I don’t have to.

*Photographs.  I’m thankful that I’m able to look back at so many special moments in my life and remember how special they were at that time through the expressions captured in those photographs.  And now, more than ever-for the chance to take pictures of Henry.  If parenting teaches you anything-it’s that life is precious, and moves way too damn fast.  So I’m thankful that I can capture moments along the way to keep forever, even long after my memory fails me.

*My parents…both biological and in-laws.  It can’t possibly be put into a few words what each of them means to be.  They are each fabulous in their own right.  And if becoming a mother has taught me anything-it’s that parenting ain’t easy.  And when I think about how loved and supported I’ve been through the years, I’m literally at a loss for how to put into words my gratitude for each of them.

*Cozy sweatpants.  Let’s face it people…when laundry and dishes are the orders of the day-zippers and buttons are overrated.

*My dearest friends-you know who you are.  Once again-a lucky person may be able to count all of these one one hand-and I’m thankful I need lots of hands.  I treasure our memories and the support I’ve received from each of you over the years.  Thank you for sharing in my joys, and supporting me in my hardships.  Thank you for your laughter, tears, and love.   And even though life gets in the way sometimes-and we may go a while without seeing or talking to each other-NO amount of time gone between us will ever, ever change the way I feel about each you.

*Guilty pleasures including but not limited to: reality TV, chipotle burritos, fresh fountain cokes, twitter, facebook, chips & salsa, a relaxing hair appointment…

*My sweet husband.  Sometimes the stars align and life not only gives you what you need-but more than could have ever, ever hoped or dreamed of in a life partner.  And every single day, I get to wake up next to my best friend whom I’m still head-over-heals in love with.  And we get to share this beautiful life together.  There is hands down, nothing greater in the world, than getting to be married to you Colin.

*And last, but most certainly not least-my sons.  Henry-the joy you’ve brought to my life (and the joy I’m certain your baby brother will also bring) in your short 15 months here on earth isn’t measurable.  Being your mom is hands down my biggest blessing. Thank you for allowing me to discover life again through the eyes of a child.  Your joy and enthusiasm for the simplest things have taught me that there truly is no greater gift in this world than being  a mother.

Due to the fact that I’m approaching eight months pregnant and at any given time my brain is in seven places at once…I not only forgot to bring Henry’s khaki pants to Thanksgiving dinner-but also the memory card for our camera.  Hence, we don’t have a wealth of photographs to document this holiday.  A holiday that thankfully was not only stuffed with turkey and a killer green bean casserole, but also precious time spent with friends and family.  And don’t worry-my kid DID wear pants to the dinner table.

Here’s the only picture we have of Henry from the day…

What can I say?  The boy can rock an argyle sweater.

 

5 Responses to “SO many PERKS to be THANKFUL for…”

  1. Jillian November 27, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    I didn’t even get a picture of Emerson that day! How sad is that:)

  2. Abby November 27, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Love your list, Shubs! Happy Turkey Day…a little late 🙂

  3. gina November 27, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    He is a doll…khakis or no khakis!

  4. Kristin Brown November 28, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    What a great thankful list! And it definitely has been way too long since I have seen you and that adorable little boy of yours!! He looks soooo grown up, not a baby anymore! Lets make plans soon!

  5. Tucker's Mama November 30, 2010 at 1:00 am #

    Love your list, girl! We have so much in common, not the least of which are our amazing boys! 🙂

    And, yes, Henry totally ROCKS that argyle! So glad the Perks had a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

