Football Perks.

15 Nov

There is a universal truth that exists in every single family in the world.  They all have a baby.  And eventually, that baby will be replaced.

Something very profound happened when Henry was born.  He became the baby in my family.  Which meant that somebody else was booted out of that role.  Somebody who had held that title for almost 17 years.

That person is my youngest brother, aka Henry’s Uncle Kevin.

Here’s a picture of my baby brother holding the new baby in our family.

When I look at this picture I can hardly how believe how quickly both of these babies are growing up.  Kevin will be off to college next fall, and Henry is a full-blown toddler who’s going to be a big brother in a few months.  So while my little bro held the title of “baby” for 17 years…ironically, my little Henry will hold the title for a mere 17 months.

Funny how life works, huh?

Anyways, before I go off on a life-moves-way-too-fast tangent, I’ll put it simply…I love both of these boys.

In the past few months we’ve had the pleasure of introducing Henry to Friday Night Football, because his Uncle Kevin is currently rocking out his senior year on the football team at my alma mater, Bishop Watterson High School.

Now while I’m not too proud to admit that my high school football days consisted mostly of face paint, socializing, and an occasional glance at the scoreboard to see if our team was winning…when your baby brother is out on the field-now that’s a different story.

And the best part…Kevin’s team is good. Like, really good.  Last night we watched them win their second game in the State Playoffs.  They are now just two games away from playing for the state championship.

And there’s no denying that Kevin’s biggest fan is Mr. Henry.  He spends the games yelling and clapping non-stop and loves cheering on the Eagles.

Henry meets the Eagle mascot!

The former baby.  I guess they have to grow up, huh?

My little man.

Observe the weather change.

Above pictures are from August.  Below pictures are from November.

Hello Ohio weather!

All bundled up for the game!

When did he get bigger than me?

A family shot after a big win in the playoffs last week!

(Pictured above: my Dad, Me, brother Kevin, sister Corey & my Mom!)

#57…We’re your biggest FANS!

 

 

3 Responses to “Football Perks.”

  1. Rach November 15, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    Great family pictures – you have such a beautiful, loving family. And I know y0u will create the same for your little ones. I love you, Shubie Doo Dah.

  2. Tiff November 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Oh how I heart this post! ❤
    Here's to holding onto the memories of our "little big brothers" forever 🙂

  3. abs November 16, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    aww… how fun for you and the fam! love the pics and the post 🙂

Leave a Reply

