A Blue & Green Birthday Bash!

1 Sep

Well, it’s official.

I have a toddler.

And while I’m not totally ready to admit it yet…one thing is for sure. If Henry is no longer a baby-then we sure did send him into Toddlerhood with one heck of a 1st Birthday Bash!

For months people have been asking me “What’s the theme for Henry’s 1st birthday party?” And for months I’ve been saying…”There isn’t one.”

I wracked my brain trying to think of something fun and original…but everything I came up with seemed “too cheesy” or “too girly.”

I mean let’s be honest-when you have a one year-old that’s as cool as my son, you can’t very well decorate your house with flowers and hearts to ring in a first birthday, can you?

No.

SO-I thought about what some of my favorite things are…and thought-heck…our guests won’t care about a theme if we distract them with LOTS of candy and killer cheesy potatoes, right?

Without further ado…a picture tour of Henry’s big day…

This Pottery Barn Art Easel was our gift to Henry…but it also made for a killer decoration 🙂

I made this banner and all the fun decor hanging from the ceiling…call it the teacher in me 🙂

This was the cake table. (DUH.) Along the back of the table I had all of Henry’s monthly pictures, and then filled in the rest of the table with fun pictures from the past year including holidays and some other fun shots.

The big cake had Henry’s picture from his birthday invite on it, and the little cake was his “smash cake.”

Zoom in on this sheet cake from COSTCO. Shhhh…come closer-this entire cake cost less than $20.  And you WOULD NOT believe how goooooood it tastes.

And now-Ladies & Gentlemen…let me introduce you to the main event of this party…

The. Candy. Table.

I made little treat bags so each guest could take home some goodies…

This was the sign hanging above all the goods…

And DO NOT underestimate the talent that our friends and family have to put a serious dent in all that sugar…because this is what the table looked like at the end of the party…

Well done people, well done. In fact, I’ve spent the last few days being harassed by several party-goers who have been blaming their recent tummy-ache’s on Henry’s candy spread. WHOOPS.

A shot of Daddy Perks & The Birthday Boy!

A shot of Henry eating…a task he takes VERY seriously.

Shot of me giving a little speech, thanking our guests for helping us survive our first year of parenthood.

Seriously y’all-we couldn’t have done it alone.

And now…on to the cake…

He was slightly skeptical as to why we put an open flame in front of him…

But after a little help with the candle from Mom  & Dad…it was time to dig in…

He was dainty at first…

And even at one point yawned as if the cake was no big deal

But once he realized what was in front of him…

He was like a kid in a candy shop 🙂

But once the cake made it’s way to Hank’s nostrils, ears, and hair…we figured it was time to pose for one last family shot…

And get this boy cleaned up for some presents!

He was SO excited…

He got some FABULOUS gifts…

Basketball hoops…bicycles…TONS of clothes…

And even his very own…

Louisville Slugger Baseball Bat.

This boy is SPOILED and LOVED.

But nobody loves him more…than his perky parents…

Happy 1st Birthday Boogie!

And at the end of the day…after all the candy, cake, and presents…

It was just a boy, and his balloon that reminded us…

It’s the little PERKS in life…

(And even though, he’s not-so-little these days…he’ll always be our baby.)


4 Responses to “A Blue & Green Birthday Bash!”

  1. gina September 1, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    You did a fabulous job! Our house is so tiny that for L’s first b-day, we just did a Chuck E. Cheese party. I hope that we are in a new house for G’s first birthday so that I can do something cute like this!

  2. Tiff September 1, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Wow, now THAT’s a party! 🙂 You did a GREAT job! I might have to steal some of your ideas! I’ve been racking my brain for a non-cheesy theme….was thinking of bugs since afterall, Tucker is our Tuckerbug! But, other than lady bugs (too girly!) there’s not much out there… 😦
    I love all the pics! Henry looks so B-I-G! I can imagine that after he realized that cake was food he was shoveling it in! Tucker will probably push his off his tray lol!
    Happy Birthday Boogie!

  3. Abby September 1, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Henry!!! The party looked totally fab, Shubs! Great job!

  4. Rach September 3, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I love the “green and blue” theme. You had so many thoughtful touches. Including the well-stocked candy table. Great work, mommy. And happy birthday to the handsome Henry – he looks like such a BIG boy standing there holding the balloon. Hard to believe it, but I think the next year will be just as wonderful for your family as this past year. Love you.

Leave a Reply

