Denim Perks.

26 Apr

Stop. The. World.

Ladies (and Gentlemen who won’t understand or appreciate this)

I MUST share a fashion breakthrough moment with you that I had yesterday.

It would be a moment an astronaut may refer to as one small step for women, but one giant leap for women-kind.

One of those the angels must be singing in heaven/extra hitch in my giddy-up/today’s gonna be good day moments.

I put on a pair of jeans.  I slid them up over my thighs and I buttoned them around my stomach.  (The same stomach that measured a whopping 45 inches in circumference just a mere 8 months ago.)

(You may be wondering why I even know that my stomach measured that many inches around when I was pregnant.  Well, for those of you who aren’t faithful PERKS readers…maybe you don’t recall that I had to stand in a wedding when I was 37 weeks pregnant.  And to be fitted for my bridesmaid skirt, I had to take my measurements.  Nothing like measuring your hips and stomach when your weeks away from giving birth to give you a swift kick in the ego.  Thank goodness I had an amazing friend [Kristin] who helped me swallow my pride and measured me when I was too proud/scared to know just HOW ROUND my belly had become back in July.  Hope she knows I can’t wait to repay the favor when she’s pregnant someday and may need her measurements taken for whatever reason.  I digress.)

Not impressed that I put on a pair of jeans?  Keep reading…

What pair of jeans did I put on yesterday, you ask?

A pair of designer 7 For All Mankind jeans that I wore THE WEEK OF MY WEDDING.

And before we go any further…can all the married ladies out there take a moment  and think back fondly to what I refer to as the “wedding skinny.” You know exactly what I’m talking about.  I would venture to say that for most of us…our wedding day was our body’s prime.  A time in our lives where we made our bodies a priority in our everyday life.  You know-that motivating factor that made you put the pizza down, and put on the running shoes so you could look. your. absolute. best. in. white on your big day.

And for me, it was a period of  my life when I had time to was run 25 miles a week, maintain a relatively healthy diet, keep a good tan, and had obviously NOT yet given birth to my little stinker.

So yesterday, when I was bored, rummaging through my closet, and rediscovering clothes that haven’t seen the light of day for quite a while (due to pregnancy), I felt compelled to try these jeans on.  I had absolutely no expectations that I’d even be able to get them up around my booty, more less to a point where I could actually wear them.  But as I stepped into them, I started to realize, that by the grace of god they might actually zip, and do I dare say-button up?

So I went for it.

And after several squats and deep knee bends, a few deep breaths, and some yanking on the belt loops-I buttoned those jeans. (Did I mention that I wore them the week of my wedding?)  A feat I wasn’t sure was possible after my steamy love affair with maternity jeans.  But I did it.  And while I’m not at liberty to discuss the excess skin/fat that may or may not have been residing over the top of these jeans when I poured myself into them-nobody can take away from me the fact that I was able to put them on.

And don’t you worry.  I’m fully aware that these jeans aren’t quite “runway ready” just yet.  Don’t you go thinking I’d do something crazy like wear these jeans out to eat a mexican feast, or to do yoga in.  I did however, decide that they are a pair of jeans that I’m excited to put back into my wardrobe circulation sometime in the near-ish future.  I would classify them as a pair of pants  that I’d currently wear with a loose fitting black top, but wouldn’t be caught dead wearing with a tight, white top.

Am I speaking your language ladies?

Not sure what else to say about this fashion milestone…

One thing’s for sure though…putting on those jeans…was certainly the perk of my day.

*For those of you who are STILL desperate to see what I looked like as 37-week pregnant bridesmaid…I’m starting to come around to the idea of showing you…8 months after the fact.  My ego still isn’t quite ready to bare my soul to the entire internet world the unfortunate taffeta-clad belly that I sported on that sweaty day back in July…However-my goal is that I’ll do a post soon which includes a side-by-side picture comparison of what I looked like the day of the wedding, and what I look like when I’ve officially returned to what I deem is a note-worthy pre-baby body.  I’m not quite there yet…but I will say-putting on those jeans yesterday definitely made me realize that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.  Stay tuned…

5 Responses to “Denim Perks.”

  1. Kristin Brown April 26, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Oh Linds! First of all..congratulations on the jeans! What a great feeling..close to winning the lottery! I would love to be able to fit into my wedding day jeans..maybe someday! Second of all, you look amazing! I think I probably speak for almost all women who have not had a baby yet that I would DIE to look like you post baby! One hot Mommy! Third, you were never big like you say! You were the cutest, most glowing, beautiful mommy to be ever and it was a pleasure measuring you :). And lastly, I CAN NOT wait til the day you can measure me! 😉

  2. Tiff April 26, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    One word – JEALOUS! Enough said.

  3. abs April 28, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    oh linz, you always make me laugh 🙂

    by the way… i have peaked at those wedding photos and you look beautiful!

  4. Abby April 28, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    You KNOW I can appreciate a good pair of designer skinny jeans! Good for you, sister! {And I totally agree with the “Wedding Skinny” – you need to urban dictionary that term!}

  5. Rach May 2, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Why do you always write in a way that makes me feel like we are sitting on the phone? Seriously. I especially love your description of how you would wear a loose black top but not a tight white one. I would not touch my “week of the wedding” jeans with a ten foot pole:). Love ya!

Leave a Reply

