Spectacular at Six.

19 Mar

Half a year, half a year…we made it half a year!

(To be sung to the tune of Jingle Bells.)

No seriously. I want you to go back and sing that to the tune of Jingle Bells.

Ok-now we can move on.

Goodness gracious, my sweet little baby is half a year old.  It’s beyond insane how fast it’s gone and quite frankly, there are many days where I wish I could hit the snooze button on my little man’s life, cause gosh darnit-he’s not so little anymore.  Here are the stats to prove it…

Quick Stats:

Height: 28 1/4 inches…96th Percentile.

Weight: 18 lbs. 6 oz…70th Percentile.

Head: 30th Percentile.

I know what you’re thinking…that head is only in the 30th percentile?

Million dollar smile.

He appears to play nice with this monkey character…

But then his true colors come out.

Oh Mom? Did you think I was going to sit still for this photoshoot?

Silly Mommy.  I can crawl now.  Remember?

In fact-I think I’m done sitting in this chair.

Off to my next adventure if you don’t mind…

(Yes that is my 6 month-old standing.)

Oh Henry,

You are quite the little  stud these days.  And it’s safe to say-you’ve got Daddy and I wrapped around your little finger.  And to be honest, we are just fine with that.  Here are some of your newest tricks…

You have learned to wave, and oh my goodness it. is. adorable.  Last month you started holding your hand up and moving your fingers up and down and I was convinced you were waving, but Daddy thought I was crazy.  For weeks it seemed like you’d wave to Mommy, and then as soon as I’d have Daddy watch, you’d tuck your hand away.  Daddy was convinced I was crazy.  Eventually though, you decided to make an honest woman out of me and you waved at Daddy.  Now, you do it ALL THE TIME.  You wave to yourself, to Mommy & Daddy, and now to other people too.  You seem quite pleased with your newest talent, and sometimes you’ll wave for 15 minutes straight.  As time goes by though, you seem to be getting a better handle on when are the appropriate times to wave. In fact, at your 6 month check-up, as Dr. Matt walked into the room, you looked up at him, smiled, and waved.  He then looked at me and said, “Well-I guess we don’t have to spend too much time discussing Henry’s social development.”  (Dr. Matt is still getting to know Daddy & I…but I’m sure as time goes on, he’ll realize that any offspring of ours probably won’t be lacking in the social department.)

You’re really into touching faces lately.  At first it was Daddy’s face that you were most interested in.  You just seemed very curious about his cheeks and grabbing at his glasses.  You’re pretty quick these days, and if Daddy isn’t careful you’ll grab his glasses right off his face.

Keeping it simple…you’re still a great: sleeper, eater, napper, etc.

You are also quite the babbler.  Dr. Matt said I should prepare myself that Daddy will probably be your first word, and I’m ok with that.  In fact, we’ve been practicing saying “Daddy” lately, but every time I say “Henry, can you say Daddy?” your first response is to make the “G” sound.  We celebrate this accomplishment.

A couple weeks ago you popped your first tooth, and boy was it a rough night.  We knew something was up when you woke up at 11 pm, 1 am and 5 am.  That next morning I felt your gums and sure enough, your bottom left front tooth was starting to poke through your gums.  It comes in a little more each day, but right now it’s the lone ranger in there.

You love reading books with Mommy and Daddy and you’re even getting the hang of helping us turn the page.

I know in your five month post I talked about you being in the beginning stages of crawling.  Well, my little man-you have worked out the kinks. You have moved on from inchworm creeping to full fledged, knee-alternating crawling.  It seemed to happen overnight. It was as if you realized that there had to be a more efficient way to get around.  And just like that-you’ve become this little puppy that likes to follow me around wherever I go.  You’ll follow me into the kitchen if we’re downstairs, and into our bathroom if we’re upstairs.  You’re extremely curious about all these new places that you never really saw in your pre-crawling days.  I must admit, with you crawling, our lives have gotten infinitely more complicated and Daddy and I are in full-fledged baby-proofing mode.  Discussions topics over dinner these days consist of outlet covers and baby gates, and this weekend we’ll definitely be making a trip to buy these very necessary safety devices.

In addition to big-boy crawling, you pulled yourself up onto your feet for the very first time the other day.  You crawled over to the bottom of the stairs and one of your toys was on the first step.  At first you were ready to just turn around and leave it, but then it was as if the light bulb went off in your head…”Wait a minute-I bet I can get that.”  And just like that, you propped your hands up on the bottom step, pushed yourself up and stood their ON YOUR OWN TWO FEET.  You weren’t quite sure what to do once you got to the standing position, so you turned your head around and looked to me for assistance.  I of course stood there to see what you’d do, and eventually you fell back down onto your butt and went on about your business.  I’m in complete awe of the fact that you’re already crawling and pulling yourself up at 6 months…it’s safe to say you’re freakishly strong and will probably be walking before we know it.  YIKES.

In other news, you had a sleepover at Mimi’s last weekend and you did great.  You were very well behaved, you slept through the night even though you were in a different crib, and when we came to get you the next morning you were all smiles.  Daddy and I are SO SO glad that you’re such an easy going kid.  It doesn’t really matter where you are, or who you’re with-you just seem to love life.

We love you so much Buggy.  Thank you for the best six months of our lives.  Here’s to hoping the next six are just as silly and spectacular.

Love,

Mama & Daddy Perks

PS…Up to this point, it’s been unanimous that you’re a clone of your Daddy…but here’s a shot where I think you might be starting to look a bit like me…

What do you think PERKS Followers?!?  Any resemblance?

5 Responses to “Spectacular at Six.”

  1. Meredith March 19, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    What? I think his face looks exactly like yours.

  2. Jill March 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    This looks a lot like my photo shoots with Emerson!! They are so much fun!!

  3. Abby March 20, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Adorbs! I can’t believe he’s 6 months old already! Crawling and standing – he must be advanced (probably because his mommy is stellar teacher!).

    PS. I can see the resemblence, though Becks favors his daddy to a tee too!

  4. Dawn Dwyer March 21, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    I think he looks a lot like your baby photos, Lindsey! Nice pics!

  5. Tiff March 22, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    Henry looks so big as he’s climbing off that chair! You can tell he’s one happy baby! (Cause he obviously has amazing parents!) Wow, Henry really will be walking before you know it! Enjoy his pre-walking days while you can 🙂 And keep the pics of that handsome little man coming!

Leave a Reply

